A Pictorial Memory Journey

Looking back at the photographic endeavors that accompany my writing, I offer some of my favorite images in this penultimate post…at least till spring of 2017.

I am not a morning person by nature, and so whenever I catch spectacular sunrises, they’re all the more special to me. I was grateful for some of the sunrise shots, just in time to debut my blog in 2010.

sunrise1

sunrise2

The dramatic sky in the southwest is almost a weekly event, sometimes daily. I must have accumulated hundreds of shot in my files. I can’t choose my favorites, but here are a few awesome ones.
rainbow

sunset-1

And the clouds. The Clouds! I learned about “mammatus” in this part of world, and cannot get enough of them. I await the experience of capturing one during sunset, with the wildly vivid colors reflecting on them…someday.

mammatus-3

My painting career has really taken off since I moved to northern New Mexico in 2002. I have since exhibited a few times and sold a few paintings.

abique-lake

gladiolus

dream-of-water

And this year, I started the exercise of painting left-handed, using my non-dominant hand that might have been my dominant hand. Here is the first trial.

poppies

We created a backyard where colors, fruit, and wild look are the themes; it’s given us so much pleasure.

constrast

And now that I have overcome my reptile phobia (my high school biology text book had centerfold of snakes; I glued the pages), I actually find some pleasure in encountering them. They are certainly fascinating.

garden-snake1

The typical vivid mixture of colors in autumn in the East is a fond memory. Yet, after living in the southwest high desert for a while, I have come to welcome with joy the yellowing aspens every autumn. Occasionally orange and red are mixed in, but yellow is the dominant color. When the breeze ripples through the aspen leaves, they do sound like gold coins. I think the yellow aspens (and cottonwood) reflect the quieter atmosphere in this part of the world because we don’t get much traffic congestion. Even during the peak of the season, when everyone wants to catch the beautiful views, the traffic is nowhere comparable to that endured on the east coast.

field-of-gold4

monestary-6

chama-3

The ski resort that’s only 25-min drive from door to door is great, but what’s even greater is that the mountain offers quite challenging runs, even mentioned two years ago by National Geographic. I improved my skills here, and my son got his ski patroller certificate at age 14. I swear you never see unhappy people on ski hills.

valle-2

tall-trees

And petroglyphs! There are a few special preserved sites, but there are occasional finds on random trails…and trails are readily available in our neighborhood and beyond.

multi5

multi10

Of course, there are more, but these few immediately come to my mind.

Till next time,

Staying Sane and Charging Ahead.

Direct Contact: taso100@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

